You are here


2020 Annual Conference — student and postdoc travel award

November 8, 2019

HEI is inviting applications for a Travel Award for its 2020 Annual Conference.

Up to six award winners will be invited to present posters on their research at HEI’s conference in Boston, Massachusetts between April 5 and April 7, 2020. Travel awards will be awarded on a competitive basis, upon review of the application and proposed abstract.

Experts drive discussion of traffic-related air pollution

November 7, 2019

HEI’s Panel on the Health Effects of Long-Term Exposure to Traffic-Related Air Pollution met with HEI staff in Boston on October 30–31 to apply its systematic approach to search the epidemiological literature on long-term exposure to traffic-related air pollution and selected health outcomes, assess study quality, summarize results, and reach conclusions about the body of evidence, as reflected in its review protocol.

Key Brussels meeting on air pollution and health

November 6, 2019

On behalf of HEI, the World Health Organization (WHO), the International Society for Environmental Epidemiology (ISEE), and the European Respiratory Society (ERS), we are pleased to announce a January 21-22, 2020 meeting to be held in Brussels, Belgium.

HEI-Energy launches new website

September 26, 2019

HEI-Energy, a new affiliate of HEI, has launched its own website. Please visit for more information.

Summer 2019 Update now available

August 21, 2019

In this issue of Update, read about HEI’s two new Board members; the protocol an expert HEI panel is following to review the literature on traffic-related pollution; a recap of our Annual Conference; a new report on household air pollution in Ghana; a visit with our sponsors and scientists in Japan; and more.

Two eminent leaders join HEI Board

August 5, 2019

In July, the HEI Board of Directors welcomed two new members: Martha J. Crawford, dean of the Jack Welch College of Business and Technology at Sacred Heart University; and Michael J. Klag, dean emeritus and Second Century Distinguished Professor at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Members of the Board are drawn from distinguished leaders in science and policy whose principal responsibilities are to ensure the integrity and scientific quality of HEI’s research and review.