You are here

HEI 2023 Jane Warren Award winners


HEI is excited to showcase the work of the 2023 Jane Warren Conference Award winners at HEI’s Annual Conference to be held Sunday, April 30th, through Tuesday, May 2nd, at the Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel in Boston, Massachusetts.   

The winners of the 2023 Jane Warren award were selected from a prestigious group of applicants from institutions across North America. The applicants were required to submit abstracts on research pertinent to the interests of HEI for the opportunity to present a poster and lightning talk. As in previous years, three winners were selected from local institutions and three of the winners were invited from a general pool of applicants. 

The award is presented in remembrance of Dr. Jane Warren who joined HEI in the 1980s and served as the Director of Science from 1999 until her retirement in 2008.

Congratulations to the following winners of the Jane Warren Trainee Conference Award 2023:
1.    Falco Stoffi from Harvard University 
Who is Most Vulnerable? A Causal Machine Learning Approach for Environmental Justice
2.    Libby Koolik from University of California, Berkeley
Racial-Ethnic Disparities in Exposure to PM2.5 from California’s On-Road Mobile Sources Remain After Decades of Emissions Controls
3.    Jenni Shearston from Columbia University
Can Traffic-Related Air Pollution Trigger Myocardial Infarction Within a Few Hours of Exposure? Identifying Hourly Hazard Periods
4.    Sabrina S. Chow from Emory University
The Role of Metabolic Perturbations in Mediating the Effects of Ambient Air Pollution on Lung Cancer in the Cancer Prevention Studies
5.    Alina McIntyre from Boston University 
Portable Air Cleaner Usage and Particulate Matter Exposure Reduction in an Environmental Justice Community: A Pilot Study
6.    Matt Shupler from Harvard University and the University of Liverpool 
Put Your Money Where the (Gas) Stove Fits: Using Household Air Pollution Measurements to Prioritize Locations for Clean Cooking Intervention in Sub-Saharan Africa

If you have any questions, please contact Ada Wright. We look forward to seeing you at the Annual Conference!