Advancing Air Quality, Global Health, and Energy Science at HEI

Tuesday, May 1, 8:30 AM

David Eaton, Univ. of Washington and Chair, HEI Research Committee

James Merchant, Univ. of Iowa and Chair, HEI Review Committee

George Hornberger, Vanderbilt University and Chair, HEI Energy Research Committee



Incoming Chair – HEI Research Committee

David Savitz, Ph.D.
Professor of Epidemiology,
Professor of Pediatrics,
Professor of Obstetrics and
Gynecology
Brown University



HEI Research Committee

David Eaton
Chair



What is the HEI Research Committee?

- Composed of 8-12 experts in various fields
- Members appointed by the HEI Board of Directors
- 4-year appointment, renewable once
- Responsibilities: Develop and oversee HEI's research program:
 - Define research areas, including development of requests for applications (RFAs) on specific topics
 - Review applications and select the most qualified team for funding
 - Oversee ongoing studies

Members of the Research Committee, 2016

- David L. Eaton, <u>Chair</u>, Professor, Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences, University of Washington (term ending)
- Jeff Brook, Senior Research Scientist, Air Quality Research Division, Environment Canada, and Assistant Professor, University of Toronto
- Francesca Dominici, Professor of Biostatistics, T.H. Chan School of Public Health and Co-Director of the Data Science Initiative, Harvard University
- David E. Foster, Phil and Jean Myers
 Professor of Mechanical Engineering
 Emeritus, Engine Research Center,
 University of Wisconsin–Madison
- Amy Herring, Professor of Statistical Science and Global Health, Duke University

- Barbara Hoffmann, Professor of Environmental Epidemiology, Institute for Occupational, Social, and Environmental Medicine, University of Düsseldorf, Germany
- Allen Robinson, Raymond J. Lane
 Distinguished Professor and Head,
 Department of Mechanical
 Engineering, and Professor,
 Department of Engineering and
 Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon
 University
- Ivan Rusyn, Professor, Department of Veterinary Integrative Biosciences, Texas A&M University



HEI Review Committee

James Merchant
Chair



What is the HEI Review Committee?

- Composed of 8-12 experts in various fields
- Members appointed by the HEI Board of Directors
- 4-year appointment, renewable once
- Committee not involved in HEI's research functions
- Responsibilities: Review and evaluation of HEI funded studies upon completion of research
 - Detailed and rigorous peer-review of the work
 - Prepare commentary on the study
 - Provide critical and impartial evaluation
 - Place results into scientific and regulatory context



Members of the Review Committee*

- James Merchant, Chair, Professor and Founding Dean Emeritus, College of Public Health, University of Iowa
- Kiros Berhane, Prof. of Biostatistics and Director of Graduate Programs in Biostatistics and Epidemiology, Keck School of Medicine, Univ. of Southern California
- Mark Frampton, Professor
 Emeritus of Medicine, Pulmonary &
 Critical Care, University of
 Rochester Medical Center
- Frank Kelly, Professor of Environmental Health and Director of the Environmental Research Group, King's College London

- Jana Milford, Professor,
 Department of Mechanical
 Engineering and Environmental
 Engineering Program, University of
 Colorado-Boulder
- Jennifer Peel, Professor of Epidemiology, Colorado School of Public Health and Department of Environmental and Radiological Health Sciences, Colorado State University
- Roger Peng, Professor of Biostatistics, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
- Lianne Sheppard, Professor of Biostatistics, School of Public Health, University of Washington-Seattle (term ending)

^{*} Additional Members being added

Presentation of the 2017 Walter A. Rosenblith Award for New Investigators

by

David Eaton and Annemoon van Erp

Awardees

Joshua Apte

University of Texas at Austin

AND

Marie Pedersen

University of Copenhagen in Denmark