HEI Update

Chairs:

James Merchant, Univ. of Iowa and Chair, HEI Review Committee

David Eaton, Univ. Washington and Chair, HEI Research Committee



Outline of the Session

- The Research Committee, David Eaton
- The Review Committee, James Merchant
- The Rosenblith New Investigator Award, Geoffrey Sunshine, HEI
- Report on HEI progress Rashid Shaikh, HEI
- Update on the HEI 21st Century Oil and Gas Project, Donna Vorhees, HEI
- Presentation of a recently completed HEI study:
 - Introduction: HEI Health Outcomes Program: James Merchant
 - Air Quality Improvements and Children's Respiratory Health, James Gauderman, University of Southern California
 - Comments from the HEI Review Committee,
 Bert Brunekreef, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands

HEI Research Committee

David Eaton
Chair



What is the HEI Research Committee?

- Composed of 8-12 experts in various fields
- Members appointed by the HEI Board of Directors
- 4-year appointment, renewable once
- Responsibilities: Develop and oversee HEI's research program:
 - Define research areas, including development of RFAs on specific topics
 - Review applications and select the most qualified team for funding
 - Oversee ongoing studies

Members of the Research Committee, 2014

- David L. Eaton, <u>Chair</u>, Dean and Vice Provost, The Graduate School; Professor of Environmental & Occupational Health Sciences, University of Washington
- Jeff Brook, Senior Research Scientist, Air Quality Research Division, Environment Canada
- David Christiani, Elkan Blout Professor of Environmental Genetics, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
- Francesca Dominici, Senior Associate Dean for Research and Professor of Biostatistics, Harvard School of Public Health
- David E. Foster, Phil and Jean Myers
 Professor of Mechanical Engineering,
 Engine Research Center, University of
 Wisconsin–Madison

- **Uwe Heinrich**, Professor and Executive Director, Fraunhofer Institute for Toxicology and Experimental Medicine, Hanover, Germany
- Barbara Hoffmann, Professor of Environmental Epidemiology and Head of Environmental Epidemiology of Aging, University in Düsseldorf, Germany
- Allen Robinson, Chair, Department
 Head and Raymond J. Lane
 Distinguished Professor, Mechanical
 Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
- Ivan Rusyn, Professor, Department of Veterinary Integrative Biosciences, Texas A&M University
- Richard L. Smith, Director, Statistical and Applied Mathematical Sciences Institute, University of North

Carolina-Chapel Hill

HEI Review Committee

James Merchant
Chair



What is the HEI Review Committee?

- Composed of 8-12 experts in various fields
- Members appointed by the HEI Board of Directors
- 4-year appointment, renewable once
- Committee not involved in HEI's research functions
- Responsibilities: Review and evaluation of HEI funded studies upon completion of research
 - Detailed and rigorous peer-review of the work
 - Prepare commentary on the study
 - Provide critical and impartial evaluation
 - Place results into scientific and regulatory context



Members of the Review Committee

- James Merchant, Chair, Professor and Founding Dean, College of Public Health, University of Iowa
- Michael Brauer, Professor, School of Environmental Health, University of British Columbia, Canada
- Bert Brunekreef, Professor of Environmental Epidemiology, Institute of Risk Assessment Sciences, University of Utrecht, the Netherlands
- Mark Frampton, Professor of Medicine and Environmental Medicine, University of Rochester Medical Center

- Stephanie London, Senior
 Investigator, Epidemiology Branch,
 National Institute of
 Environmental Health Sciences
- Roger Peng, Associate Professor of Biostatistics, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
- Armistead Russell, Georgia Power
 Distinguished Professor of
 Environmental Engineering, School
 of Civil and Environmental
 Engineering, Georgia Institute of
 Technology
- Lianne Sheppard, Professor of Biostatistics, School of Public Health, University of Washington Seattle

Presentation of the 2014 Walter A. Rosenblith Award for New Investigators

Geoffrey Sunshine
HEI

