HEI Update

Chairs:

David Eaton, Univ. Washington and Chair, HEI Research Committee

James Merchant, Univ. of Iowa and Chair, HEI Review Committee



Outline of the Session

| 8:30 | Introduction of the Committees |
|-------|---|
| | David Eaton and James Merchant |
| 8:45 | Presentation of the 2015 Walter A. Rosenblith Award |
| | David Eaton and Annemoon van Erp |
| 8:50 | Upcoming scientific activities at HEI |
| | Rashid Shaikh, Health Effects Institute |
| 9:00 | HEI's 21st Century Oil and Natural Gas |
| | Development Project |
| | Donna Vorhees, Health Effects Institute |
| 9:20 | Progress on diesel and looking ahead |
| | Dan Greenbaum, Health Effects Institute |
| 9:40 | Discussion |
| 10:00 | Break |

HEI Research Committee

David Eaton
Chair



What is the HEI Research Committee?

- Composed of 8-12 experts in various fields
- Members appointed by the HEI Board of Directors
- 4-year appointment, renewable once
- Responsibilities: Develop and oversee HEI's research program:
 - Define research areas, including development of RFAs on specific topics
 - Review applications and select the most qualified team for funding
 - Oversee ongoing studies

Members of the Research Committee, 2016

- David L. Eaton, <u>Chair</u>, Dean and Vice Provost, The Graduate School; Professor of Environmental & Occupational Health Sciences, University of Washington
- Jeff Brook, Senior Research Scientist, Air Quality Research Division, Environment Canada
- David Christiani, Elkan Blout Professor of Environmental Genetics, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
- Francesca Dominici, Senior Associate
 Dean for Research and Professor of
 Biostatistics, Harvard T.H. Chan School of
 Public Health
- David E. Foster, Phil and Jean Myers
 Professor of Mechanical Engineering
 Emeritus, Engine Research Center,
 University of Wisconsin–Madison

- Amy Herring, Carol Remmer Angle
 Distinguished Professor of Children's
 Environmental Health and Associate
 Chair, Department of Biostatistics,
 Gillings School of Global Public Health,
 University of North Carolina—Chapel
 Hill
- Barbara Hoffmann, Professor, Institute of Occupational Medicine and Social Medicine, Center for Health and Society, Faculty of Medicine, University of Düsseldorf, Germany
- Allen Robinson, Chair, Department
 Head and Raymond J. Lane
 Distinguished Professor, Mechanical
 Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
- Ivan Rusyn, Professor, Department of Veterinary Integrative Biosciences, Texas A&M University

HEI Review Committee

James Merchant
Chair



What is the HEI Review Committee?

- Composed of 8-12 experts in various fields
- Members appointed by the HEI Board of Directors
- 4-year appointment, renewable once
- Committee not involved in HEI's research functions
- Responsibilities: Review and evaluation of HEI funded studies upon completion of research
 - Detailed and rigorous peer-review of the work
 - Prepare commentary on the study
 - Provide critical and impartial evaluation
 - Place results into scientific and regulatory context



Members of the Review Committee

- James Merchant, Chair, Professor and Founding Dean Emeritus, College of Public Health, University of Iowa
- Michael Brauer, Professor, School of Environmental Health, and Atmospheric Science Programme, University of British Columbia, Canada
- Bert Brunekreef, Professor of Environmental Epidemiology, Institute of Risk Assessment Sciences, University of Utrecht, the Netherlands
- Mark Frampton, Professor of Medicine and Environmental Medicine Emeritus, University of Rochester Medical Center

- Jana Milford, Professor,
 Department of Mechanical
 Engineering and Environmental
 Engineering Program, University of
 Colorado-Boulder
- Jennifer Peel, Associate Professor, Colorado State Univ., Fort Collins
- Roger Peng, Associate Professor of Biostatistics, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
- Lianne Sheppard, Professor of Biostatistics, School of Public Health, University of Washington– Seattle



Presentation of the 2016 Walter A. Rosenblith Award for New Investigators by

David Eaton and Annemoon van Erp (HEI)

Awardee

Kimberly Gowdy, Ph.D.

East Carolina University





In Memoriam

James H. Ware

Frederick Mosteller Professor of Biostatistics Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Science Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health

HEI Review Committee: 1990 - 1995

