You are here

Apply for the 2022 Jane Warren Trainee Conference Award


HEI invites applications for the Jane Warren Trainee Conference Award for its 2022 Annual Conference.

This award, previously known as the HEI Travel Award, is named in remembrance of Dr. Jane Warren, who joined HEI in the 1980s and led HEI’s scientific activities as Director of Science from 1999 until her retirement in 2008.

Up to six award winners (three from institutions in the greater D.C. area and three from any institution in North America or Europe) will be invited to present their research as part of HEI’s Annual Conference in Washington D.C. in June. The award will pay for travel, accommodations, and meals for the duration of the conference. Awardees will be selected on a competitive basis, upon review of the application and proposed abstract (see below).

Please submit your application via the online form by March 17, 2022. For eligibility and other questions, please contact Ms. Martha Ondras with the subject line “HEI 2022 Jane Warren Trainee Conference Award”. Applicants will be notified in April 2022.


  • If applying to the local track, awardees should be graduate students or postdocs at academic or research institutions in the greater Washington D.C. area.
  • If applying to the general track, awardees should be graduate students or postdocs at academic or research institutions in North America or Europe.
  • The applicant’s research shall not be currently funded by HEI.
  • The applicant’s research must be related to HEI’s research interests in air pollution, exposure, and health (as described in HEI's Strategic Plan).
  • The applicant must be able to attend HEI’s Annual Conference from June 26-28, 2022 at The Westin Washington, D.C.

Selection Criteria

  • Scientific merit and writing quality of the abstract
  • Relevance to, or advancement of, HEI’s research interests in air quality and health


Application Materials

  • Application form 
  • Abstract
    • Abtract Instructions
    • 500 word limit including title, authors, and affiliations (see instructions above)
    • The award winner must be the first author and presenter; and
    • Limit one abstract per applicant