You are here

Special Committee on Emerging Technologies

The Special Committee on Emerging Technologies (SCET) is a key advisory body established by the HEI Board of Directors to aid HEI in identifying emerging fuels and technologies with a high likelihood of coming to market, so that HEI can effectively evaluate, plan, and initiate timely research and assessment of their likely health implications and potential unintended consequences. SCET is composed of experts from industry, government, academia, sponsors, and environmental organizations knowledgeable about fuels, technologies, health, and future trends.

During 2010-2011, SCET deliberated on the state of fuels and automotive technologies and published a comprehensive report (Communication 16).  In response to SCET’s advice, HEI issued to a call to action on several specific topics (see Communication 16).  In 2013, SCET reconvened to discuss changes that had occurred since the report was published.  HEI anticipates that it will reconvene SCET again in 2017.

Alan Lloyd

International Council on Clean Transportation

Christine Vujovich

Former Vice President Marketing and Environmental Policy, Cummins Inc.

Thomas Cackette

Chief Deputy Executive Officer, California Air Resources Board

Albert Hochhauser

Former Senior Engineering Advisor, ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company

Kathryn Sargeant

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Michael Walsh

International Council on Clean Transportation

Steven Cadle

Principal Scientist, Air Improvement Resource; formerly at General Motors Research and Development Center

Wayne Eckerle

Vice President, Corporate Research and Technology, Cummins Technical Center

Helmut Greim

Former Director, Institute of Toxicology and Environmental Hygiene, and Chair of Toxicology, Technical University of Munich

John Heywood

Director, Sloan Automotive Laboratory, and Sun Jae Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Roland Hwang

Vehicles Policy Director, Energy Program, Natural Resources Defense Council

David Kittelson

Professor of Mechanical Engineering, University of Minnesota

C. Andy Miller

Atmospheric Protection Branch, National Risk Management Research Laboratory, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Norbert Pelz

Former Senior Manager, Fuels and Lubricants, DaimlerChrysler AG

Robert Sawyer

Class of 1935 Professor of Energy Emeritus, University of California–Berkeley, and Visiting Professor of Energy and Environment, University College London

Dennis Schuetzle

President, Renewable Energy Institute International

Tom Stricker

Vice President, Toyota Motor North America

Michael Wang

Senior Scientist and Group Leader, Systems Assessment Section, Center for Transportation Research, Argonne National Laboratory